top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha Castillo

A moment with the beautiful Carmen Elisa Cancél!

Hello everyone! Happy Martin Luther King Day!

To many of you, it is still a working day but for some of you, it is a day off! I figured that it is a perfect lunch time read for me to share my latest interview with Spotlight on YOU's next feature celebrity guest for February, the beautiful and multi-talented Carmen Elisa Cancél!

For those of you who don't know Carmen, here is a bio to kick start this interview



Hailed as a singer possessing a “crystalline timbre and intense acting ability,” (L'Arena, Verona, Italy) Puerto Rican soprano, Carmen Elisa Cancél, received high praise for her performances as Countess Almaviva in Le nozze di Figaro, Puccini's Suor Angelica, Mrs. Fiorentino in Kurt Weill’s Street Scene, Musetta in La Bohème, and as Donna Elvira with the Operafestival di Roma production of Don Giovanni at the Palazzo della Sapienza in Rome. As a crossover artist, Ms. Cancél was proclaimed “flawless” and “completely believable” (Creative Loafing Tampa) in her performance as the title character of Maria’s Song, a musical drama focused on the desperate need for immigration reform in the US. Ms. Cancél enjoyed success as Sarraghina in Maury Yeston’s Nine with the Intermezzo Festival in Bruges, Belgium, where she also performed in Shakespeare Cabaret, a musical revue of the writings of Shakespeare and his influence on musical theater. She has also performed in Fall Pieces, at Dixon Place, and a reworked play version of Maria's Song at Players Theatre in NYC. No stranger to the concert stage, Ms. Cancél has sung the soprano solos in Handel's Messiah and Pergolesi's Stabat Mater as well as the Requiems of Fauré and John Rutter. Her singing has taken her throughout the US and to Italy, Bulgaria, Belgium, Canada, Dominican Republic, Mexico, and her native Puerto Rico.

​As a voice teacher in NYC, Ms. Cancél trains high caliber singers in all genres of music from classical and Broadway styles to world music, jazz, rock, and cabaret. Additionally, Ms. Cancél is currently a teaching artist for Singnasium, where she teaches group music classes focused on healthy vocal technique. In her six years as Program Director and Teaching Artist for Musical Dreams Inc, she created the organization’s Vocal Arts Training Program and forged a youth choir partnership with The Father’s Heart Ministries on the Lower East Side of NYC. She served as the organization’s primary vocal instructor and mentored many talented young singers through its music training programs. Ms. Cancél also teaches masterclasses and workshops for schools and organizations across the US.


I met and became friends with Carmen through the Singer's Forum at a holiday party. She is not only beautiful and talented but warm and friendly! It is my pleasure and honor to feature her as my Spotlight performer of the month!


For the interview, I asked Carmen the following questions:

1) Can you share with us some interesting facts that most people don’t know about you?

My first degree was in biology, and I taught middle school biology for a year before deciding to go back to school for a music degree. That biology background really informs my voice teaching now, and I think I'm a better voice teacher and singer because of it.

2) You are an amazing performer, teacher and so much more. What kicked off your passion? How did you discover your passion for music and realized that it was what you wanted to do?

I began singing in church as a child and started taking voice lessons in middle school, so I loved singing from an early age. But I was a science nerd and never considered music something I wanted to do as a career until a voice teacher in college suggested I audition for an opera and Italian language study program in Italy. That semester of study in Rome and Verona was a pivotal time for me as I fell in love with classical music, with opera, with musical theater, and with every aspect of performance. From that point on I knew I wanted to make my living in the performing arts - singing, teaching, mentoring younger musicians, and sharing my gift of communicating in such a personal way with anyone who would listen.

3) Do you have a couple of particularly interesting stories that you'd like to share with the readers?

My grandparents (Abuelo and Abuela) were the influences for my two first loves in life: cooking and singing. My Abuela was my favorite person, and as a child I learned to cook, crochet, needle point, make jewelry, and many other creative hobbies from her. My Abuelo was a pastor of a Spanish congregation, and many times he would invite me up to sing for the services accompanied by guitar, tambourine, and maracas. Thanks to their influence, I'm currently working on a cooking show that will combine my two great loves with delicious Latin flair foods and a sing-for-your-supper style segment with musical guests.

4) What is your "go-to" before you perform? It can be a routine, physical or mental space.

On the day of a performance, I usually vocalize for a few minutes early in the day, just to make sure that everything is lined up well, and I also like do a short workout early in the day to get my breathing and core support really activated. In the few hours leading up to the show, I like peace and quiet, so I can mentally review and prepare for the show. I can't handle anyone in my space who needs my attention or wants to carry on a full-blown conversation. Ha! It's the only time you'll catch me in a somewhat non-personable mood.

5) What motivates your creativity and passion for life? Name three things that never fails to put a smile on your face!

1. Feeding people delicious food and seeing the way good food opens people's hearts and minds to great conversation, laughter, and making music.

2. Singing/performing and feeling the connection that's created between myself and the audience. I also love to talk with people afterwards and hear what really resonated with them and why.

3. Seeing a great performance, whether it be a jazz set, a Latin band, an opera, a Broadway musical, classical concert, cabaret show, or rock concert. I am inspired by so many other incredible musicians and their passion for sharing their gifts with the world. As an audience member, I love that feeling of not wanting a show to end, and I always set that as a goal for my personal performances.

6) Share with us what you have in the pipeline for us to be on the lookout for!

I'm heading out to Arizona with my duo partner to perform our cabaret show for Valentine's weekend. We will also do a run of the show here in NYC this spring. There is also a very entertaining concert of classical songs coming up in NYC this spring. I'll be announcing dates and details on my IG @carmencita7412 and my FB page Boricua-Agassi Productions.

JOIN US ON FEBRUARY 5TH TO EXPERIENCE CARMEN LIVE IN ACTION! BRING YOUR FAVORITE SONG, COME SING WITH THE MULTI-AWARD WINNING TRACY STARK AND TELL US WHAT YOU'VE GOT COMING UP NEXT IN THE PIPELINE!

UNTIL THEN, WITH MUCH LOVE!!

217 views0 comments
bottom of page