top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha Castillo

A Moment With the Beautiful & Multi-Talented Tanya Moberly


Hello and Happy Tuesday Everyone!

Thank you all for reading and following my monthly interview Blog and supporting Spotlight On YOU Open Mic! I am very grateful for all your love!

This month I wanted to share my interview with a special celebrity feature, Tanya Moberly! Tanya, through the Salon, had provided one of several spaces through the years for me to grow and meet a lot of friends here in the cabaret community! For that I am very grateful! BUT.... she is sooo much more than that!

For those of you who don't know Tanya Moberly, here is a little bio to get you started before I launch into my interview. TANYA MOBERLY is the 2016 MAC Award Winner for Best Female Vocalist for her SONGS I FEEL LIKE SINGING – FOUR DIFFERENT SHOWS WITH FOUR DIFFERENT MUSICIANS series and a 2014 Bistro Award Winner for Outstanding Theme Show for her I LOVE NEW YORK SONGWRITERS. She was also a MAC Award Nominee for Major Female Artist in 2018 for her SIX DIFFERENT SHOWS, SIX DIFFERENT MUSICIANS, SIX FRIDAY NIGHTS series.She performed in The Margaret Whiting Tribute at Carnegie Hall in 2014 and in The Cabaret Convention at Rose Hall at Lincoln Center in 2017.TANYA has been performing in cabaret since 1997 when she co-created MAC AWARD nominated THE BLONDE LEADING THE BLONDE. Solo shows include: MOBERLY SINGS DI FRANCO, TANYA LORRAINE MOBERLY SINGS BARBRA JOAN STREISAND, THEATRE SONGS, MOBERLY SINGS NILSSON WITH WEBER, TANYA SINGS THE BLUES WITH IAN, TANYA SINGS AMY, ANI, RICKIE, JONI WITH RITT & MOBERLY SINGS LOGGINS WITH WATKINS. Theatre credits include: April in COMPANY, Rizzo in GREASE, Columbia in THE ROCKY HORROR SHOW, Ruby in DAMES AT SEA, Lola in DAMN YANKEES, Petra in A LITTLE NIGHT MUSIC and Drood in THE MYSTERY OF EDWIN DROOD. Tanya is also the Six-Time MAC Award Winning Producer of THE SALON and was a MAC Award Nominee for Director in 2016 & 2018.

For the interview, I asked Tanya the following questions:

1) Can you share with us a few interesting facts that most people don’t know about you?

Most people think of me as a 'city girl' but I was born in Omaha, Nebraska and grew up in Rhode Island & New Jersey.

2) You are a wonderful entertainer, director, emcee, supporter of cabaret and music and so much more. How did it all started? How did you discover your passion for it all and realized that it was what you wanted to do?

I discovered the record player in my house when I was 4 years old and resolutely vowed to be a singer for the rest of my life. Everything just kind of fell into place after that.

3) Do you have a couple of particularly interesting stories that you'd like to share with the readers?

None off the top of my head.

4) What motivates your creativity and passion for life? Name three things that never failed to put a smile on your face!

I love beauty and art and self-expression. I love anything that rings of truth and authenticity. I also have a deep love & respect for children (I was a babysitter for over 30 years.) As far as making me smile - I would say my three-legged cat - Max, the sound of children running & laughing and South Park.

5) Share with us what you have in the pipeline for us to be on the lookout for!

I am hoping to create and produce a CD from the kazillion live recordings I have from singing at Don't Tell Mama. I also have a number of exciting directing projects coming up with clients Dan Ruth, Lisa Viggiano, Kendra Cunningham, Marnie Klar, Amy Beth Williams & Jennifer Bangs. And of course, continuing to produce Salon with Mark Janas - which will be celebrating 13 years in August, and judging the Mama's Next Big Act contest all summer.

Are you curious to find out more??? COME TO THE SPOTLIGHT ON THURSDAY, JULY 12TH AND SEE FOR YOURSELF!! BRING YOUR FAVORITE SONG AND SING WITH IAN HERMAN!

WHILE YOU'RE AT IT, GET A COPY OF YOUR VIDEO SO YOU CAN SHARE YOUR MOMENT AT

THE SPOTLIGHT WITH ALL YOUR FRIENDS!

IN THE MEANTIME, ENJOY THE SUNNY TUESDAY!

SENDING YOU ALL LOVE!

NATASHA

41 views0 comments
bottom of page