top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha Castillo

Happy Moment With the Beautiful Meg Flather!


Happy Friday everyone!

Are you excited about Spotlight On YOU Open mic coming up next Wednesday May 1st? I know I am! There are not 1 but 5 gloriously wonderful ladies I am featuring! I am blessed!

It's pure pleasure for me to share this interview with this wonderful and beautiful which some of you may have had the pleasure of seeing on the Home shopping network on TV... Meg Flather!

For those of you who don't know Meg, here is a little bio before I jump into my interview questions:

Meg Flather is a two-time Backstage Bistro Award winner, three-time MAC Award Winner, and five time BroadwayWorld.com New York Cabaret Award nominee. As a singer/songwriter, Meg has released seven CDs of her original music (all of which are available on iTunes). She has written and recorded songs for independent films, Off- Broadway, and on behalf of HIV/AIDS, 9/11, Alzheimer’s, Autism, suicide awareness, and political activism. She has also been a featured performer for The Gay Men’s Health Crisis at New York’s historic Webster Hall, the Vermont Film Festival, the Tribeca Film Festival, and to benefit the 2013 victims of Typhoon Yolanda at the Philippine Consulate in NYC. In October 2018, Meg made her Mabel Mercer Cabaret Convention debut at Jazz At Lincoln Center’s Rose Theater. After years serving as a Brand Ambassador for five International skincare brands on all home shopping networks in North America and Australia, Meg released her autobiography, Home Shopping Diva . . . Lessons, Lyrics and Lipstick, which is available on Amazon.

Meg looks forward to launching her new show this summer.

I met Meg as the result of seeing her CD release show and I loved her warmth and the sound of her voice! She is not only beautiful but charming and supportive!

For this interview, I asked her the following questions:

1) Can you share with us a couple of interesting facts that most people don’t know about you?

I was born in the Philippines as my parents worked for the Peace Corps! I am a proud graduate of the La Guardia High School of Music and Art, NYC!

2) What fuel your passion for music and performance? How did you discover your passion for it all and realized that it was what you wanted to do?

While being raised abroad we did not have a television, just a record player. My grandmother would send all the latest Broadway show soundtracks and they sounded from our homes constantly. So from the moment I was born I heard music playing. My sister said I would "sing" from the crib as a very small baby. My mother could only get me to nap if she played "The Wizard of Oz" soundtrack from the downstairs living room. I would drift to sleep to it sounding. I actually remember this. So, I did not choose music. It chose me. It always felt under God.

3) Do you have a particularly interesting story about your musical journey that you'd like to share with the readers?

I think sharing that Peace Corps story is perfect.

4) What is your "go to" before a show? It can be a routine, physical or mental space.

I sip my herbal tea and sing vocal eases while deliberately breathing correctly. I do this by myself in the glass outdoor eating area of the Don't Tell Mama restaurant. Thankfully no one complains. It is a breathing, vocal form of meditation for me.

5) Share with us what you have in the pipeline for us to be on the lookout for!

I am debuting a whole new show on Mother's Day, May 12 at 7 PM at our Don't Tell Mama with the amazing, Tracy Stark (Lennie Watts directed the piece.) It is a show that celebrates necessary endings, losses, failures that ultimately take us exactly where we need to go. I will be combining many styles of music as well as my latest original song, "Like a Sunday."

So, how was that for a bit of sunshine on this otherwise rainy day!! Come join us at the Spotlight next Wednesday, May 1st to experience all of these wonderful ladies!

Stay tuned next Monday for my last interview with the warm and amazing Lisa Viggiano!

Until next time, I send you all light and love!

37 views0 comments
bottom of page